McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Arkansas Car Insurance Basics

Welcome to the basics of car insurance in the state of Arkansas. All states have specific requirements for automobile insurance and you need to make sure that you know what Arkansas requires. In this state all vehicles must have liability on each vehicle that a person owns and is registered in the state. It is important to maintain this type of insurance to protect yourself and other drivers.

Before you purchase a car in Arkansas, you need to obtain quotes for automobile insurance. Before you can drive the car off the lot you must have insurance on the vehicle in Arkansas. Even if you buy the car from a friend - you will need to be responsible for your own car insurance coverage.

As soon as you purchase a car in Arkansas, you will need to have proof of insurance to carry with you incase you are stopped or involved in an accident. This is a basic requirement for car insurance in Arkansas. Most companies will email or fax you a copy of your proof of insurance as soon as you pay your first premium.

Safe Arkansas drivers will be educated and know the rules for car insurance in their state. All the information you need can easily be found and understood before you purchase that first car or obtain insurance when you move to Arkansas. Knowing the basics for car insurance coverage is not only smart, it is the right thing to do for yourself and your family.

Automobile Insurance Coverage in Arkansas

Basic coverage for automobile insurance in Arkansas requires liability insurance on each vehicle. The following coverage amounts are the minimum allowed by state law. You may purchase increased amounts of coverage - which will increase the car insurance premium you pay. These amounts differ from state to state so make sure if you have just moved to Arkansas that you check on your insurance coverage and make sure you are in compliance with the law.

You will need to make sure your policy includes $25,000 of coverage for bodily injury for one person in one accident. This type of insurance covers expenses incurred because of the accident and covers one person. Again, this is a minimum coverage and you can ask for a higher limit.

There is a minimum of $50,000 worth of coverage needed for all bodily injury claims for all persons involved in the accident. If you only purchase this minimum of coverage and there are several people involved in an accident, you may not have enough coverage.

In the state of Arkansas, you are required to purchase $25,000 worth of coverage for property damage. This coverage is for damage to the vehicle or property inside the vehicle at the time of the accident. Again, these are minimum amounts of coverage and if you have an expensive audio or visual system in your car you may want to increase your property coverage.

Arkansas requires automobile owners to have personal injury coverage also. This type of coverage pays for funeral, hospital, or medical expenses for the driver of the vehicle, any passenger or any pedestrian involved in the accident. This coverage is not required in all states, but it is one way that Arkansas is able to keep car insurance inexpensive.

Again, these are basic minimum amounts of automobile insurance required by the state of Arkansas. You may decide to increase this coverage for peace of mind or depending on the drivers in your household or the types of cars you are driving. The most important thing is that you have the required car insurance for the state you are living in.

Providing Proof of Insurance in the State of Arkansas

All drivers are required to provide proof of insurance anytime they are stopped for a traffic related incident. Before you drive a vehicle in the state of Arkansas make sure you have the required insurance coverage and you have proof of this coverage.

In the state of Arkansas the insurance companies are required to keep an electronic record of those persons who have car insurance with their company. They must also keep track of drivers who let their insurance lapse or have suspended their car insurance coverage. Responsible drivers in the state of Arkansas will make sure that their vehicle is covered at all times by the appropriate car insurance.

Overall the basics of car insurance in Arkansas are simple and easy to understand. Not only must you have liability insurance, you must also carry the correct amount of minimum coverage and you must have proof that you are covered by car insurance. If everyone follows these few simple rules, car insurance premiums will be kept at a reasonable rate. Be a safe, responsible and educated driver and you will be doing everyone else a favor.

partners

FREE Quotes, Multiple Insurers

Zip Code