McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Arkansas Driving and Traffic Laws

Welcome to Arkansas! As a new driver in the state, you need to make sure that you understand the driving and traffic laws specific to this area. Whenever you move to a new state you need to research and understand the driving laws. Most traffic officers are not going to accept the excuse that you did not know that you broke a driving or traffic law. To be on the safe side, educate yourself!

Using the internet is a great way to quickly read and understand the Arkansas driving and traffic laws. You can look up specific situations or general information about the laws that you need to be aware of as you are driving.

Less Serious Driving and Traffic Laws

Failure to yield is one of the less serious traffic violations in the state of Arkansas. It happens to the best of us that we are distracted and may not yield to an emergency or police vehicle. If you get a ticket for this type of violation, it will go on your record, but it is not as serious as other offenses.

Another less serious offense is littering while you are driving. While we all know this type of behavior is illegal we sometimes let something fly out the window before we think about the consequences. If we are unfortunate enough to have this action observed by a police officer - we will get a ticket. Yet again, this is on the less serious list of driving and traffic offenses

Serious Offenses When Driving

Probably the most serious offense in Arkansas in regard to driving and traffic laws is drinking and driving. In the state of Arkansas you must be 21 years old to drink alcohol. If you are stopped and tested because of suspicion for drinking and driving you must have a blood alcohol level of less than .08 percent.

When you apply for and receive a driver's license in the state of Arkansas, you are also agreeing to implied consent when stopped for a driving or traffic violation. Basically this means that if the police officer has any suspicion of alcohol use when driving they can stop you for that reason.

To make your life easier, do not drink and drive. You do not want to take a chance on being stopped for a drinking and driving traffic violation and risk having your license suspended. The first offense will mean a fine of between $150 - $1000 and a 120 day suspension of your license. A second offense will get your license suspended for up to two years and a much higher fine.

Another serious traffic offense is leaving the scene of an accident. Under no circumstances should you leave the scene of an accident to avoid getting in trouble. Let someone else contact authorities and take responsibility for your own actions. Not only is this the right thing to do - it will save you from paying an even higher fine and causing more trouble for yourself.

Points for Traffic Violations

Everyone talks about getting points on their license, but what does that really mean. For certain driving violations you will receive a certain number of points depending on the severity of the offense. When you reach the 10 - 13 point range you will receive a letter of warning. At this point you may be able to take a defensive driving course to help reduce the number of points on your license.

You will earn a three month suspended license when your points increase between 14 - 17. If you have had several traffic violations in a short amount of time your points may reach this point. Hopefully losing your license for three months will be a reminder to be more careful with your driving habits.

If you reach the 18-23 point range you will lose your license for up to six months. Again it will take several serious violations to reach this point range and losing your license for six months will be extremely inconvenient.

Some people just never learn and may have over 24 points on their license. You will lose your license for more than a year if your traffic violations have reached this point. Obviously all of these point concerns can be diminished if you practice safe driving skills and remain alert on the road.

Child Safety Restraint Laws in Arkansas

All passengers in a vehicle must where a seat belt. This basic safety law is simple and easy to follow. Also, children under the age of six or who weigh less than sixty pounds, must be in an approved child safety seat.

All of these Arkansas traffic and driving laws are easy to follow and remember. Just remember to be aware of the laws in Arkansas and you will have many years of happy driving.

partners

FREE Quotes, Multiple Insurers

Zip Code