McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

How Much Do Seat belt Tickets Cost

Most people would agree that it's a good idea to wear your seat belt. We all know that study after study has proven that wearing your seat belt can save your life more often than not.  Now, even though you may know that you may not agree with the law, after all, who is the government to tell you to physically restrict your body? If you want to be dumb and not wear your seat belt, shouldn't that be your right? Maybe so.

Regardless there are parties that should be protected, namely children.  Some states believe that there are also parties that should be exempted, for example, those driving trucks on farms - after all, isn't it a bit silly to try and put on and take off a seat belt every time you get in and out of a truck while performind duties on a farm? 

The seriousness with which violating seat belt laws is taken varies from state to state. There are 32 states that have primary seat belt laws and 17 states that have secondary seat belt laws. Only 1 state, New Hampshire, has not implemented any seat belt law - this of course goes along with their 'Live Free or Die' state motto.

What are Primary and Secondary Seat Belt Laws?

Primary seat belt laws allow law enforcement to pull you over if the ONLY violation you are committing is that of not wearing a seat belt.  Secondary seatbelt laws only allow an officer to cite you for not wearing a seat belt if you have been pulled over or cited for another, primary, offense.  For example, in Indiana if you pass by a patrol car and you are not wearing a seatbelt the officer can pull you over and cite you. However, in Massachusetts, for example, you would need to be pulled over for a different primary offense, such as speeding before being cited.  If you pass an officer in Massachusetts and are not wearing a seat belt and are not violating any other ordinances, they cannot pull you over to cite you for the seat belt violation.

When You Have to Wear a Seat belt

Many states only require a seat belt in the front seat. Most states that only require front seat passengers to wear a belt do require those under the age of leage consent to wear a belt regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle. For example, in Georgia those aged 8-17 are required to wear a seat belt in any seat, those 18 or older are required to only wear a seat belt if they are in the front seat.  Those under 8 are protected by child restraint laws.

Child Safety Restraints

Unlike seat belts child safety restraints are required in EVERY state and are a primary law in every state.  Generally, any child under 40 pounds needs to be in a car seat or a booster seat in order to comply with the law and to provide protection for the child.  Please review more information at the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration site in order to protect your child while he or she is a passenger in a motor vehicle.

 Alabama   $25.00
 Alaska   $15.00
 Arizona   $10.00
 Arkansas   $65.00
 California
  $144.00
 Colorado   $71.00
 Connecticut   $120.00
 Delaware   $25.00
 D.C   $50.00
 Florida   $30.00
 Georgia   $15.00
 Hawaii   $92.00
 Idaho   $51.50
 Illinois   $25.00
 Indiana   $25.00
 Iowa   $25.00
 Kansas   $60.00
 Kentucky   $25.00
 Louisiana   $25.00
 Maine   $50.00
 Michigan   $25.00
 Minnesota   $25.00
 Mississippi   $25.00
 Missouri   $50.00
 Montana   $20.00
 Nebraska   $25.00
 Nevada   $25.00
 New Jersey
  $46.00
 New Mexico
  $25.00
 New York
  $50.00
 North Carolina
  $161.00
 North Dakota
  $20.00
 Ohio   $30.00
 Oklahoma   $20.00
 Oregon   $110.00
 Pennsylvania  $10.00
 Rhode Island
  $75.00
 South Carolina
  $25.00
 South Dakota
  $25.00
 Tennessee   $50.00
 Texas   $200.00
 Utah   $45.00
 Vermont   $25.00
 Virginia   $25.00
 Washington   $124.00
 Wisconsin   $10.00
 Wyoming   $25.00
partners

FREE Quotes, Multiple Insurers

Zip Code