McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Is Florida a no-fault state?

Yes, Florida is one of a handful of other states within the United States that operates under the guidelines of a no-fault policy. A Floridian motorist must carry certain forms of insurance coverage in the state to maintain their tags and registration. By law, an insurance company must inform the Department of Motor Vehicles if a lapse in the proper amount of coverage occurs. This can result in the suspension of a car's tags. Until proof is produced that the requirements for insurance have been met, the suspension will remain in effect. By educating yourself, you can understand the laws and what protections and benefits they offer to you as a motorist. 

Under the principles in which a no-fault system operates, there is no single designated party who is considered to be at fault in an automobile collision. All of the motorists involved share an equal amount of blame. Each policyholder's insurance company will pay for only their respective medical expenses and property damage repair costs. The main aim of such a system is to attempt to keep traffic court cases from clogging the judicial system. The theory also believes that such a practice will cost taxpayers less since they will not have to divert funds towards court expenses. This also lessens the amount of time required to file a claim because there are no court actions involved.

Essentially, the no-fault system is in place to prevent one party from suing another. Each motorist is accountable for the accident and thus cannot file a claim against another driver's insurance company. However, exceptions can and will be granted if the motorist who is at fault in the accident does not have the necessary amounts of insurance to cover all the costs involved.

The state law in Florida requires a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability and an additional $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage. Personal injury protection insurance provides money towards the costs of a driver's or passengers' immediate medical expenses. Given the national average of what other states require a motorist to carry, the limits in Florida are not very high. It may be a wise decision to purchase further amounts of coverage to fully allot for the costs of an accident. It should be noted that a motorist in Florida will be required to maintain personal injury protection coverage in addition to the required minimum of liability insurance. 

Most states that operate under a no-fault policy require a motorist to carry uninsured motorist protection in addition to the personal injury protection coverage. However, Florida is not one of these states.  Thus it may be beneficial to a person in Florida to consider increasing the coverage amounts on your property damage and bodily injury liability policies. The regulations in coverage required by a state vary from location to location. You can contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles of the Department of Highway Safety in your state in order to ascertain more information. 

partners

FREE Quotes, Multiple Insurers

Zip Code