McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Kansas Car Insurance Rules and Regulations

For drivers in the state of Kansas, auto insurance is a necessity. State law prohibits any vehicle from being out on the road without adequate insurance complying with regulations adopted by the Kansas legislature. Since every driver must be insured, the question turns from whether to carry insurance to how much is required and what it takes to get into compliance with state law. Several areas of protection are required for motorists in the state. This article is a guide explaining those requirements for Kansas drivers. Liability, no fault, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are all required according to state rules and regulations for auto insurance.

Liability Insurance Required in KS

As it is in most states across the U.S. auto liability insurance is compulsory in the state of Kansas. Every driver and every vehicle must be covered with liability protection. The state gives minimum guidelines for acceptable coverage; beyond these minimums drivers are free to add to their policies and increase their levels of coverage.

The split form liability policy is in use in Kansas. It has three parts, each with its own deductible and monetary coverage limit. The three parts are bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage liability. The state requires at least $25,000 for single victim and $50,000 in per accident bodily injury liability coverage, and at least $10,000 in property damage liability insurance [1]. Beyond these levels, drivers can add to their plans as they please. Many do, since so many liability judgments far exceed the state minimum guidelines.

Liability insurance handles the expenses incurred by the other driver (or drivers) and passengers in an at fault accident. It pays for medical expenses for injured parties, funeral expenses for those who lose their lives, and property losses. This area of Kansas car insurance does not pay any benefits for the covered driver, passengers or vehicle.

Kansas a No Fault State

The driver and passengers in an insured vehicle in KS are covered by no fault or personal injury protection (PIP). Personal injury protection pays for medical expenses for those in the vehicle at the time of an accident, as well as certain other related expenses. The state requires $4,500 per person in medical expense coverage, $900 per month for one year in disability or work loss coverage, $25 per day in at home services care, $2,000 for funeral or burial benefits, $4,500 in rehabilitation coverage, and survivor benefits equal to the disability and in home services levels [1].

The purpose of no fault insurance is essentially to get injured parties the medical care they need as quickly as possible following an accident. The reason some states including Kansas have elected to require no fault or PIP insurance is so that drivers have the coverage they need to get into hospitals or other medical clinics and get the attention they need immediately following an accident without having to wait on insurance companies assessing blame for the accident.

Contrary to what some believe based on the term "no fault", PIP states do still have a concern for fault finding in auto accidents. No fault states like Kansas actually require liability insurance as we have previously mentioned, which indicates a strong emphasis on fact finding and the assignment of liability for an accident. The primary goal of PIP insurance is to get patients in to see doctors without having to deal with insurance red tape and wrangling over blame. A secondary goal has been to reduce the number of civil court cases that come out of accidents, although this goal has not been realized as of yet.

Uninsured/Underinsured and Optional Endorsements

On top of liability and no fault protection, Kansas drivers also must carry combined uninsured and underinsured protection. Even though auto liability insurance is required, there are still some drivers who are out on the road without adequate auto insurance. Uninsured and underinsured coverage protect policy holders from bodily injury expenses that exceed the limits of the liable driver's policy (or from all such expenses if the other driver is completely without insurance) up to the limits of the policy. The state mandates a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

As a no fault state, Kansas has some unique rules and regulations for the way it administers auto insurance law. Drivers in the state have to abide by these measures or risk suffering punitive consequences. But the law is hardly the only reason to get a quality Kansas car insurance policy. The protection it gives you and your family in any claim situation makes auto insurance a great investment. Use this free quote site to connect with local providers and get prices.

[1] http://www.ksinsurance.org/consumers/autoinfo.htm#required Retrieved 2010-04-05.

partners

FREE Quotes, Multiple Insurers

Zip Code